Transforming lives on four continents

Book Reviews

  • Landmark essays in mission and world Christianity

    Posted: 21 September 2010 by Mission Catalyst

    Edited by Robert L Gallagher & Paul Hertig, Orbis Books, £23.99 ISBN: 978-1-57075-829-4   In post-Christendom Western culture it is essential for Christian leaders to get to grips with mission theology. This book is a great place to...

  • Concepts of mission

    Posted: 21 September 2010 by Mission Catalyst

    By Francis Anekwe Oborji, Orbis Books ISBN: 978-1-57075-663-4   Oborji’s job title tells you what to expect within the covers of this slim, well-written introductory text. He is professor of missiology at the Pontifical Urban University...

  • Gandhi and Jesus

    Posted: 17 June 2010 by Mission Catalyst

    By Terrence J Rynne, Orbis Books, £9.99 ISBN: 978-1-57075-766-2 In this book subtitled ‘the saving power of non-violence’, Rynne provides a helpful study of Gandhi’s satyagraha (pursuit of truth) and its relationship with...

  • Point me to the skies

    Posted: 17 June 2010 by Mission Catalyst

    By Ronald Clements, Monarch/OMF, £8.99 ISBN: 978-1-85424-804-6 Focussing on the story of Joan Wales, Clements tells an amazing story of faith, suffering and perseverance shown by missionaries to the Nosu in south west China in the years before...

  • Jonah, Jesus and other good coyotes

    Posted: 17 June 2010 by Mission Catalyst

    By Daniel L Smith-Christopher, Abingdon Press, £10.99 ISBN: 978-0-68734-383-6 Taking the image of the coyote, the guide who helps illegal immigrants cross the Mexico/US border, Smith-Christopher builds an argument that the kind of peacemaking...

  • What about other faiths?

    Posted: 17 June 2010 by Mission Catalyst

    By Martin Goldsmith, Hodder, £7.99 ISBN: 978-0-34097-923-5 This book explains why Jesus is the only way to God and uses the Bible to explain why the paths that other religions tread to gain their version of salvation have missed the point. As...

  • Not for sale

    Posted: 11 May 2010 by bms_editor

    By Ed Pemberton, Myers & Berry, Inspire, £12.99 ISBN: 978-1-90595-811-5   “Prostitution is not the oldest profession – it is no profession at all.”  It is “the most profound and invasive form of...

  • On the side of the angels

    Posted: 11 May 2010 by bms_editor

    On the Side of the Angels: Justice, Human Rights and Kingdom Mission By Dr Joseph D’Souza & Benedict Rogers, Authentic 2007, £6.99 ISBN 978-1-93280-570-3 In the tradition of Gary Haugen and Bryant Myers, this is a clarion call to...

  • Planetwise

    Posted: 11 May 2010 by bms_editor

    By Dave Bookless, IVP, £7.99 ISBN: 978-1-84474-251-6 This book is essential reading for anyone who wants an introduction to the subject of creation care. Dave Bookless says, “Land is perhaps the most overlooked theme in the Bible....

  • Planting mission-shaped churches today

    Posted: 11 May 2010 by bms_editor

    By Martin Robinson, Monarch £8.99 ISBN 1-85424-728-X Martin Robinson previously co-authored Planting Tomorrow’s Churches Today. This new book covers similar ground in a fresh and stimulating way. The need for church-planting and...

© 2014 BMS World Mission Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Site Map Site Credits